Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

RYA Day Skipper Shore-Based (Winter 2023) – CANCELLED

January 21 @ 9:00 am 2:00 pm

Course schedule

RYA Day Skipper (Shore-based) is taught over several sessions. The planned schedule for the Winter 2023 course is as follows:

Sat 21/01/23 – 09:00 – 14:00
Wed 25/01/23 – 19:00 – 21:30 
Wed 8/02/23  – 19:00 – 21:30 
Sat 11/02/23 – 09:00 – 14:00 
Wed 15/02/23 - 19:00 – 21:30 
Sat 18/02/23 – 09:00 – 14:00 
Wed 22/02/23 – 19:00 – 21:30 
Sat 25/02/23 – 09:00 – 14:00 
Wed 1/03/23  – 19:00 – 21:30 
Sat 4/03/23  - 19:00 – 21:30  
Wed 15/03/23 – 19:00 – 21:30 
Sat 18/03/23 – 09:00 – 14:00 
Wed 22/03/23 – 19:00 – 21:30 


Course dates may be subject to change

A comprehensive introduction to chartwork, navigation, meteorology, and the basics of seamanship. You will find this course invaluable if you want to learn how to start making decisions on board.

Course content

  • Nautical Terms
  • Ropework
  • Anchorwork
  • Safety
  • International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea
  • Definition of Position, Course and Speed
  • Navigational Charts and Publications
  • Navigational Drawing Instruments
  • Compass usage
  • Chartwork and Navigation – Traditional and Electronic Visual Aids to Navigation
  • Navigation in Restricted Visibility
  • Tides and Tidal Streams
  • Meteorology
  • Passage Planning
  • Pilotage
  • Marine Environment

Course pre-requisites: None

Minimum age: 16 years

Max. pupil : instructor radio: 8:1

Course duration: 40 hours (minimum)

Provided with the course: All course books and light refreshments

Please bring: Pens, 2B pencils, notebook, portland plotter, ring binder.

Please be aware this course is subject to last minute cancellation due to weather, low uptake or unforeseen circumstances.

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking “Get Tickets” will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available
12 Beacon Terrace
Torquay, TQ1 2BH, United Kingdom
+ Google Map
01803 292006
View Venue Website