Loading Events

« All Events

RYA Day Skipper Shore-Based (Winter 2022)

February 8 @ 7:00 pm 9:30 pm

£495.00 – £595.00

Course schedule

RYA Day Skipper (Shore-based) is taught over several sessions. The planned schedule for the Winter 2022 course is as follows:

Tue 08/02/22 - 19:00 - 21:30
Tue 15/02/22 - 19:00 - 21:30
Sat 19/02/22 - 09:00 - 14:00
Tue 22/02/22 - 19:00 - 21:30
Tue 01/03/22 - 19:00 - 21:30
Tue 08/03/22 - 19:00 - 21:30
Sat 12/03/22 - 09:00 - 14:00
Tue 15/03/22 - 19:00 - 21:30
Sat 19/03/22 - 09:00 - 14:00
Tue 22/03/22 - 19:00 - 21:30
Sat 26/03/22 - 09:00 - 14:00
Tue 29/03/22 - 19:00 - 21:30

Course dates may be subject to change

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking “Get Tickets” will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
RYA Day Skipper (Winter 2022) – RTYC Members
Discounted rate for RTYC members only
£ 495.00
2 available
RYA Day Skipper (Winter 2022)
RTYC Non-members
£ 595.00
2 available

A comprehensive introduction to chartwork, navigation, meteorology, and the basics of seamanship. You will find this course invaluable if you want to learn how to start making decisions on board.

Course content

  • Nautical Terms
  • Ropework
  • Anchorwork
  • Safety
  • International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea
  • Definition of Position, Course and Speed
  • Navigational Charts and Publications
  • Navigational Drawing Instruments
  • Compass usage
  • Chartwork and Navigation – Traditional and Electronic Visual Aids to Navigation
  • Navigation in Restricted Visibility
  • Tides and Tidal Streams
  • Meteorology
  • Passage Planning
  • Pilotage
  • Marine Environment

Course pre-requisites: None

Minimum age: 16 years

Max. pupil : instructor radio: 8:1

Course duration: 40 hours (minimum)

Provided with the course: All course books and light refreshments

Please bring: Pens, 2B pencils, notebook, portland plotter, ring binder.

12 Beacon Terrace
Torquay, TQ1 2BH, United Kingdom
+ Google Map
01803 292006
View Venue Website